Judas Priest – Angel Of Retribution

Angel Of Retribution
Released in 2005 (Epic/Sony)
Billboard Chart Position #13

Track List:
01. Judas Rising
02. Deal With The Devil
03. Revolution
04. Worth Fighting For
05. Demonizer
06. Wheels Of Fire
07. Angel
08. Hellrider
09. Eulogy
10. Lochness

Band Members:
Rob Halford – vocals
Glenn Tipton – guitars
K.K. Downing – guitars
Ian Hill – bass
Scott Travis – drums

Produced by Roy Z.

The Priest is definitely back!

I just picked up Angel Of Retribution and gave it a first listen – the CD rocks. It’s got the sound of classic Judas Priest. Take Painkiller, Screaming For Vengeance, Stained Class and a bit of Hell Bent For Leather and this is what you get.

“Revolution”, the first single, is a progression from the Painkiller sound. There are even a couple of slower songs, “Worth Fighting For” and “Angel”, the later of which is reminiscent of Hell Bent For Leather‘s “Before The Dawn”. The best all out rocker on this disc is probably “Hellrider”, which sounds like it could be a rewritten left-over from Painkiller. The worst thing about Angel Of Retribution is its length – only 10 songs, roughly 52 minutes long.

The bonus DVD shows that Judas Priest can still rock live. It contains live footage from last years reunion tour in Europe of “Breaking The Law”, “Metal Gods”, “A Touch Of Evil”, “Hell Bent For Leather”, “Electric Eye”, “Diamonds And Rust” and “Living After Midnight”. Also included is interview footage with the band discussing how the reunion came about, the new CD, touring and many other subjects – to my knowledge the band has never given an interview like this before, definitely interesting and informative. I would say this disc is a must have for Priest fans and anyone who likes quality heavy metal. I give Angel Of Retribution 7.5 out of 10. www.judaspriest.com.

Reviewed by Ken for Sleaze Roxx, March 2005.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com