Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody: ‘Prometheus: Symphonia Ignis Divinus’

Released on June 30, 2015 (Nuclear Blast Records)

Here it is, the second effort from Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody after his 2011 departure from Rhapsody of Fire. A very strange split indeed, along with Turilli came bassist Patrice Guers and session guitarist Dominique Leurquin, but most strangely Alex Holzwarth who was playing drums with both Rhapsodies for a while had to leave Luca’s because of time issues. Confusing right? An uncommonly friendly split for sure that basically left us with two bands with similar names and style.

On Prometheus: Symphonia Ignis Divinus, Turilli continues evolving his trademark style of symphonic power metal which he now calls cinematic metal. And indeed that’s what he get here, impressive orchestral arrangements made even more powerful by Alessandro Conti’s operatic voice.

Pompous is an understatement when it comes to Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody and it is most definitely not for everyone. In my case, I’ve been with Rhapsody since Legendary Tales and even though things weren’t as over-the-top, the style remains the same. This is a good record, but I must say that things are taken a little bit too far, and sometimes all the variations in style don’t seem to blend as well together, I definitely liked Ascending to Infinity more, not to mention Rhapsody of Fire’s latest Dark Wings of Steel which I thoroughly enjoy and would call a return to earlier form.

Still, Turilli has always been all about orchestration and virtuosity and he doesn’t disappoint as himself and everyone involved here performs impeccably. Bottom line, not for everyone, but if you like the style pick it up and give it a few listens to really uncover all of its many layers.

Track List:
01. Nova Genesis (Ad Splendorem Angeli Triumphantis)
02. Il Cigno Nero
03. Rosenkreuz (The Rose And The Cross)
04. Anahata
05. Il Tempo Degli Dei
06. One Ring To Rule Them All
07. Notturno
08. Prometheus
09. King Solomon And The 72 Names Of God
10. Yggdrasil
11. Of Michael The Archangel And Lucifer’s Fall Part II: Codex Nemesis
I. Codex Nemesis Alpha Omega
II. Symphonia Ignis Divinus (The Quantum Gate Revealed)
III. The Astral Convergence
IV. The Divine Fire Of The Archangel
V. Of Psyche And Archetypes (System Overloaded)
Digipak Bonus:
12. Thundersteel (Cinematic Version)

Band Members:
Alessandro Conti – lead vocals
Luca Turilli – guitar, keyboards & orchestral arrangements
Dominique Leurquin – guitar
Patrice Guers – bass
Alex Landenburg – drums

Produced by Luca Turilli
Mastered by Christoph Stickel

Band Websites:
Official Website

Review by Eduardo for Sleaze Roxx, July 2015