Motley Crue – Greatest Hits

Motley Crue - Greatest Hits

Released November 17, 2009 (Eleven Seven Music)

Track List:
01. Too Fast For Love
02. Shout At The Devil
03. Looks That Kill
04. Too Young To Fall In Love
05. Smokin’ In The Boys Room
06. Home Sweet Home
07. Wild Side
08. Girls, Girls, Girls
09. Dr. Feelgood
10. Kickstart My Heart
11. Same ‘Ol Situation
12. Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
13. Without You
14. Primal Scream
15. Sick Love Song
16. Afraid
17. If I Die Tomorrow
18. Saints Of Los Angeles
19. The Animal In Me (Remix)

Vince Neil – vocals
Mick Mars – guitars
Nikki Sixx – bass
Tommy Lee – drums

Track 19 produced by Nikki Sixx, James Michael and DJ Ashba.

Each year brings yet another Motley Crue Greatest Hits collection, or so it seems. However in Motley‘s defense, the ’98 hits collection and the Red, White & Crue initial pressings have been deleted. So with a band that has such a great back catalog and hit after hit still played on radio they simply have to have these compilations out there.

  Like many hits collection there will be a few fan favorites that won’t make the cut and also stuff that you’d expect to find there. This Greatest Hits collection ends with “Saints Of Los Angeles” and a new version of “Animal In Me” remixed by bassist Nikki Sixx and his Sixx A.M. bandmates James Michael and DJ Ashba. There are a couple of questionable calls though, the first being that “Live Wire” is missing, as are “Bitter Pill” and “Enslaved” from the ’98 hits collection. This ’09 compilation is heavy on Dr. Feelgood songs, featuring five tracks from that classic album. I think that the weakest track, “Without You”, should have been dropped to make room for any of the three aforementioned missing songs.

  Still this is just me, a fan, calling the shots after the band has already pulled the trigger. It’s a good collection, there’s just always going to be one that isn’t satisfied. I don’t think you’ll get much of an argument from a 13-14 year old kid who picks up this album or gets it as a gift for the holidays because this is a formidable introduction to Motley Crue.

  Those that pick up the Greatest Hits at Best Buy will get a cool bonus preview of the soon to be released Cruefest 2 DVD. This isn’t a live set, but instead features backstage interview footage with Motley Crue. It will wet your appetite for the main course coming in 2010. – –

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, November 2009.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at