Platinum Overdose: ‘Back For The Thrill’

Released on August 5, 2020 (The DDR Music Group)

Platinum Overdose didn’t have a lot of margin for improvement after their sizzling debut album Murder In High Heels that was released last year. Nevertheless, that’s exactly what they have accomplished with their sophomore album Back For The Thrill. The improvements aren’t that substantial but enough that Platinum Overdose have come up with an even better record than their debut. What is also impressive is that less than a year since the release of Murder in High Heels, Platinum Overdose have already written, recorded and unveiled another album. It reminds me of the good old days when bands would regularly release at least one album per year.

For those not in the know, Platinum Overdose is the brainchild of The DDR Music Group (formerly Demon Doll Records) principal Lance V. who handles bass and the production (and mastering) on the band’s records. Lance V. has assembled a stellar cast consisting of Steve Philbrook (Brass Kitten) on lead vocals, Matt Thorr (Rough Cutt, Jailhouse, Stephen Pearcy) on rhythm guitar and Rick Mead (Syre) on lead guitar. Glen W. has handled the drums on both Platinum Overdose but as far as I understand, he’s not an official member of the band.

Although there is no song that reaches the height of “Rise Up” from the debut album, I find that Back For The Thrill is more cohesive and consistent from start to finish. “Psycho Suzi” starts off fast and strong, and never lets up. The opener has a strong ’80s flavour to it. “No Way Out” is more melodic and one of my favourites on the record despite its more poppy feel. If anything, it shows Philbrook‘s wide vocal range after hearing him wail on “Psycho City” but simply sing on “No Way Out.” If “Rockin’ America” had been released thirty years ago, it would have likely been a hit single for the band. Platinum Overdose have a real knack for coming up with great melodies and ’80s sounding hard rock music. Mead‘s guitar solo on “Rockin’ America” is a thing of beauty.

There really isn’t a bad song on Back For The Thrill. One surprising track is Platinum Overdose‘s cover of Def Leppard‘s “Rock Brigade.” Platinum Overdose‘s version of the Def Lep classic is a good one although I find it really unnecessary. When you can write songs as good as the ones on Murder In High Heels and Back For The Thrill, there really is no point in covering other bands’ songs. Back For The Thrill closes with “Nights That Never End” which is again one of my favourites on the record.  Overall, Platinum Overdose‘s sophomore album will take you back to the sounds of the late ’80s / early ’90s without sounding dated, and that’s a great thing. It’s a fun record with lots of melodies, some great guitar work and one very strong vocalist. You simply can’t go wrong with that.

Track List:
01. Psycho Suzi
02. No Way Out
03. Rockin’ America
04. Give The Night Away
05. Back In Your City
06. In Love With A Junkie
07. Rock Brigade
08. Nights That Never End

Band Members:
Steve Philbrook – lead vocals, background vocals
Lance V. – bass, background vocals
Rick Mead – lead guitars
Matt Thorr – rhythm guitars, background vocals

Additional Musicians:
Blake Hastings – second lead guitar (1)
Glen W. – drums

Produced and mastered by Lance V.
Mixed by Matt Thorr

Band Websites:
Official Website
The DDR Music Group

Reviewed by Olivier for Sleaze Roxx, December 2020

Platinum Overdose‘s “Psycho Suzi” single:

Platinum Overdose‘s “Rockin’ America” single:

Platinum Overdose‘s “Back In Your City” single: