Revile – The Moment In Review

Revile - The Moment In Review
Released 2004 (Revile)

Track List:
01. Id
02. Living Receiver
03. Forever Later
04. Choice & Consequence
05. Blood & Brine

Andy O’Toole – vocals
Greg Clarke – guitar
Diarmuid Shore – guitar and samples
Cathal Rodgers – bass
Andy Clarke – drums

Additional Musicians:
Caroline Lawford – additional vocals (4)

Engineered, mixed and mastered by Neal Calderwood.

Listening to The Moment In Review EP I am constantly reminded of the Red Hot Chili Peppers minus the funk – for the simple reason that vocalist Andy O’Toole sounds so much like Anthony Kiedis. I am also reminded of bands like the Doors and the Tea Party, groups that have a dark element lingering just under the surface.

  With that in mind, this type of music doesn’t do much for me. I find it all too depressing and severely lacking of any fun what-so-ever. But, for the type of music Revile creates, how does The Moment In Review stack up? Well, it stacks up very well. O’Toole has a powerful voice, the musicianship is top-notch (although lacking of any memorable solos) and the production is flawless.

  For what they do, Revile do it well – fans of this genre should be impressed. This is dark, moody, powerful and dreary (right down to the colorless album artwork) music featuring some of the weirdest lyrics this side of The Cult. If this sounds like your bag, check the band out at

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, December 2004.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at