Shooting Star – It’s Not Over

Shooting Star - It's Not Over
Released 1991 (JRS/RCA)

Track List:
01. It’s Not Over
02. Believe In Me
03. We Can’t Wait Forever
04. Rebel With A Cause
05. Dancing On The Edge
06. If You’ve Got Love
07. Blame It On The Night
08. Get Excited
09. Cold Blooded
10. Compassion

Keith Mitchell – vocals
Van McClain – guitar and background vocals
Ron Verlin – bass
Rod Lincoln – drums
Dennis Laffoon – keyboards and background vocals

Additional Musicians:
Baby Lee – background vocals
Rickey Carter – background vocals
Gary Charlson – background vocals
Jim Bond – background vocals
Donald Brown – background vocals

Produced by Van McLain.

The re-vamped Shooting Star was coming off their greatest chart success with the single “Touch Me Tonight”, but it didn’t seem to help sell the follow-up album It’s Over Now. Shooting Star was attempting to cash-in on the success of 80’s hard rock with songs such as “It’s Not Over”, “Rebel With A Cause” and “Get Excited”. Of course the obligatory ballads like “We Can’t Wait Forever” and “Blame It On The Night” were also included.

  The sound on It’s Not Over is very similar to Foreigner, as new vocalist Keith Mitchell is reminiscent of Lou Gramm. The musicianship and songs are very good throughout this album of well crafted AOR. Shooting Star continued to toil in obscurity for years, never receiving the recognition they deserved, but It’s Over Now remains a great album and gets two thumbs up!

Reviewed by Pam for Sleaze Roxx, July 2003.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at