The Compulsions – Laughter From Below

Laughter From Below
Released 2004 (The Compulsions)

Track List:
01. Down On The Tracks
02. Shake Hands With The Devil
03. Dance Around The Fire

Rob Carlyle – vocals and guitar
Richard Fortus – guitar (1 & 3)
Hugh Pool – guitar and lap steel (1)
Georgie Seville – guitar and background vocals (2)
Ken Rich – bass and percussion
Abe Frishman – bass (3)
Frank Ferrer – drums (1 & 3)
Jimmy Ansourian – drums (2)

Produced, recorded and mixed by Hugh Pool and Ken Rich.

The Compulsions are the brainchild of vocalist/guitarist Rob Carlyle, who possesses a voice reminiscent of a whiskey-soaked Bob Dylan. Musically the group is straight-ahead 70s rock, a mix of the Black Crowes and a rougher edged Primal Scream.

  “Down On The Tracks” is the type of song Guns N’ RosesIzzy Stradin’ would be proud to play, which is ironic considering another GN’R guitarist (Richard Fortus) plays on it. It is the lap steel of Hugh Pool that takes the song over the edge however. “Shake Hands With The Devil” would have fit perfectly on Primal Scream‘s Give Out But Don’t Give Up, it has the same sort of laid-back delivery with simple yet satisfying 70s rock guitars. The demo ends with “Dance Around The Fire”, a rollicking good time.

  This type of music never goes out of style and never gets old. Seventies retro bands such as The Compulsions don’t break new ground, but when it is done convincingly like this you can’t help but transport back to a better time for no-frills rock ‘n’ roll. Highly recommended, keep watching for news on a full-length release.

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, May 2004.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at