The Dead Daisies: ‘Revolucion’

Dead Daisies CD coverTHE DEAD DAISIES
Released on July 31, 2015 (Spitfire Music)

The retooled The Dead Daisies have returned with a new overhauled lineup. The most noticeable change is the addition of John Corabi who steps in for the dismissed Jon Stevens. Also joining Corabi are bassist Marco Mendoza, guitarists David Lowery and Richard Fortus, keyboardist Dizzy Reed is none other than drummer extraordinaire Brian Tichy.

The Dead Daisies are a no frills, in your face rock ‘n’ roll band and with the addition of Corabi, it has added the grit that the band needed. They combine elements of classic rock and bring it to the modern age. They aren’t too far removed from the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and the like. The question here is will John Corabi be the shot in the arm that the band needs to get to the next level? Revolucion is full of some stellar moments such as “Mexico,” the cover of Willie Dixon’s “Evil,” “Empty Heart,” “Looking for the One,”and The Alex Harvey Band cover of “Midnight Moses.” Revolucion isn’t without its fair share of clunkers — in fact the album has a lot of them. There’s nothing more frustrating for a listener than having your anticipation for an album get completely wiped out by songs that are ‘good’ but don’t really go anywhere. The writing and recording for Revolucion took place relatively quickly and it shows here. The songs — the filler — have potential and would have benefitted from the band working on them a little more. Instead, you have a great band with a top-notch singer with pretty average material.

The band is currently opening for Whitesnake and have some dates with KISS on the horizon. In reviewing their setlist from the current tour, the band is mixing it up with stronger material from the last album and the new album alongside several covers. If you’re curious and have some extra cash in your wallet for an impulse buy, check out Revolucion. It’s not a terrible album but it’s not going to knock your sock off either. I wanted to love this album terribly but I just don’t; maybe The Dead Daisies will fair better on album #2 with Corabi.

Track List:
01. Mexico
02. Evil
03. Looking For The One
04. Empty Heart
05. Make The Best Of It
06. Something I Said
07. Get Up, Get Ready
08. With You And I
09. Sleep
10. My Time
11. Midnight Moses
12. Devil Out Of Time
13. Critical

Band Members:
John Corabi – vocals
Marco Mendoza – bass
David Lowery – guitar
Richard Fortus – guitar
Dizzy Reed – keyboards
Brian Tichy – drums

Additional Musicians:
Yaimi Karell Lay – percussion

Produced by Ben Grosse and The Dead Daisies (in Cuba), and Craig Porteils and The Dead Daisies (in Australia)

Band Websites:
Official Website

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, August 2015

The Dead Daisies – “Midnight Moses” – Official Video

Taken off our upcoming album Revolución and shot in Cuba.The Dead Daisies are a collective featuring some of the best musicians in the world. This includes; …