The Law – The Law

The Law - The Law
Released 1991 (Atlantic), 2002 (One Way)
Billboard Chart Position #126

Track List:
01. For A Little Ride
02. Miss You In A Heartbeat
03. Stone Cold
04. Come Save Me (Julianne)
05. Laying Down The Law
06. Nature Of The Beast
07. Stone
08. Anything For You
09. Best Of My Love
10. Tough Love
11. Missing You Bad Girl

Paul Rodgers – vocals, guitar and piano
Kenny Jones – drums

Additional Musicians:
John Staehely – guitar
Pino Palladino – bass
Bryan Adams – guitar
Dave Gilmour – guitar
Chris Rea – guitar
Jim Barber – guitar
Mike Hehir – guitar
George Hawkins Jr. – bass
John McIvers – bass
Tom Pool – drums
Steve Pigott – keyboards and programming
Jon Astley – keyboards and programming
Ronnie Lee Cunningham – keyboards and vocals
Albhy Galuten – synthesizer
Joe Lala – percussion
Ian Wilson – backing vocals
Steve Butler – backing vocals

Produced by Paul Rodgers, Kenny Jones, Howard Albert,
Ron Albert and Chris Kimsey.

The Law is the collaboration between legendary singer Paul Rodgers (Free, Bad Company and The Firm) and drummer Kenney Jones (The Faces and The Who). The band played a relatively bland form of AOR, and had a minor hit with “Laying Down The Law”, one of the few songs penned by Rodgers.

  “Stone” and “Tough Love” rock fairly hard, and the ballad “Come Save Me (Julianne)” is very good. The Law featured the first recording of “Miss You In A Heartbeat”, a ballad written by Def Leppard‘s Phil Collen, and which would later be a huge hit for that band. Although Rodgers and Jones are very talented, they didn’t rock as hard as they could have, and thus released a sub par offering. The Law would have a difficult time getting a conviction, and thus receive only one thumb up.

Reviewed by Pam for Sleaze Roxx, May 2003.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at