Thunder – Backstreet Symphony

Thunder - Backstreet Symphony

Backstreet Symphony American release
Released 1990 (Capitol)
Billboard Chart Position #114

Track List:
01. She’s So Fine
02. Dirty Love
03. Don’t Wait For Me
04. Higher Ground
05. Until My Dying Day
06. Backstreet Symphony
07. Love Walked In
08. An Englishman On Holiday
09. Girl’s Going Out Of Her Head
10. Gimme Some Lovin’
11. Distant Thunder

Daniel Bowes – vocals
Luke Morley – guitar
Ben Matthews – guitar, piano and organ
Mark Luckhurst – bass
Gary James – drums and percussion

Additional Musicians:
Andy Taylor – 12-string guitar (5)
The Croquettes – backing vocals
The Gherkin Brothers – backing vocals

Produced by Andy Taylor. Recorded and mixed by Mike Fraser.

Backstreet Symphony would turn out to be Thunder‘s most successful release, going Top 20 and gold in the UK and even charting in America. Songs like “Dirty Love” (#55 on the USA charts), “Backstreet Symphony” and “An Englishman On Holiday” rock, while the ballads “Until My Dying Day” and “Love Walked In” also impress the listener.

  Guitarist Luke Morley, except for the cover of the old Spencer Davis Group classic “Gimme Some Lovin'”, almost exclusively wrote the album. This album would prove to be Thunder‘s only charting release in America (although they continued to have success in their native country), but they definitely deserved more recognition and therefore Backstreet Symphony gets two thumbs up!

Reviewed by Pam for Sleaze Roxx, June 2003.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at
Purchase at
Purchase at