Tigertailz – Thrill Pistol

Tigertailz - Thrill Pistol
Released 2007 (Castle Music/Sanctuary)

Track List:
Disc One: Thrill Pistol:
01. Brain the Sucker
02. Long Live The New Flash
03. Twisted
04. Thrill Pistol
05. Milez Away
06. Natural Born Animal
07. Only You
08. Tongwynlais Fly
09. Hanging By The Heelz
10. Serpent Queen
Disc Two: U.S. Wazbonez ’92:
02. Wazbonez
03. Make Me Bleed
04. Dirty Needlez
05. I Believe
06. Love Junkie
07. One Beat Of Your Heart
08. Show Me
09. Love Can Kill
10. The Final Solution

Kim Hooker – vocals
Jay Pepper – guitar
Pepsi Tate – bass
Matt Blakout – drums

Produced by Tigertailz.

Let’s make something clear right off the bat. Tigertailz bassist Pepsi Tate succumbed to cancer shortly after the release of this album, and as sad as that is, Thrill Pistol won’t garner a good review because of it. Instead Thrill Pistol will get a great review because of its musical merits.

  If you have seen pictures of Tigertailz over the years you would automatically expect them to play radio-friendly rock like that of Poison. While the band is capable of such a sound, they don’t limit themselves to it – and on this release there is often an unexpected sinister sound lurking underneath as Tigertailz takes you on an unpredictable journey.

  The band does deliver the pop-metal in songs such as “Thrill Pistol” (which has some cool gospel type backup vocals), “Twisted”, “Natural Born Animal” and the ballad “Milez Away”, a song that reminds me of Motley Crue‘s “Home Sweet Home”. Other songs, such as “Long Live The New Flesh” and “serpent Queen”, are just eerie complete with screams of pain and other oddities. Somewhere in the middle falls one of the best compositions on this CD, the heavy “Brain The Sucker” which wanders into Diamond Rexx territory.

  As an added bonus Tigertailz includes a previously unreleased album called Wazbonez in this set. This was recorded in 1992, and some of the songs resurfaced on other releases, but this is the first time the entire album has seen the light of day (officially). This disc is closer to the classic Tigertailz sound, but thanks in part to an average production, doesn’t have the same kick as Thrill Pistol does. However “TYFHO”, “Wazbonez”, “One Beat Of Your Heart” and “Show Me” are all songs that should be included in any rock fan’s collection.

  Pepsi Tate should be proud knowing that he went out on top and that his last recordings were among his best. Thrill Pistol is a great album – pure and simple.

  www.tigertailz.co.uk – www.myspace.com/tigertailzcouk – www.sanctuaryrecordsgroup.co.uk

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, November 2007.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com