ToxicRose: ‘Total Tranquility’

Toxicrose CD coverTOXIC ROSE
To be released on May 16, 2016 (City Of Lights Records)

It has been a long four months but it appears that we now have a worthy contender for the top spot on Sleaze Roxx’s upcoming Top Ten Albums of 2016. ToxicRose‘s first full-length album Total Tranquility is a splendid album mixing old school sleaze with more modern sounds while dabbling in the fury of the musical compositions from the now sadly retired Sister Sin.

With so many sleaze type bands seemingly retiring permanently (or temporarily) in the last year from the already mentioned Sister Sin to the iconic Mötley Crüe to the up and coming Dirty Passion, and others such as Crashdiet seemingly on an extended hiatus, it is simply fantastic to see a band grab the bull by its horns, take the mantle and run with it. Truth is, ToxicRose‘s new album Total Tranquility has more modern overtones than I would usually like but they do what they do so well that it has quickly rocketed as one of my favorite releases of the year. Although I find that the album tails off a little bit at the end starting with the ballad “Because Of You”, the first seven tracks are, song for song, pound for pound, really solid tracks.

My favorite tracks are “Silent End Of Me” with its Masterplan like intro, “Reckless Society” with its Sister Sin like fury and “Clarify” with its catchy melodies. There appears to be a lot of keyboards on this album despite my digital copy not crediting anyone in that regard. If you have read some of my past reviews, you’ll know that keyboards are often the bane of my existence or at least that I am not fond of them but on Total Tranquility, the keyboards do not come off as wimpy or sappy, and rather complement the songs quite well. City of Lights Records has indicated that fans of W.A.S.P., Faster Pussycat, Crashdiet and Mötley Crüe will enjoy Total Tranquility but I think the album casts a much wider web as fans of melodic rock to sleaze rock will likely find lots that they like on the record.

While I already have an advance digital copy of Total Tranquility, I like the album so much that I am going to buy a physical copy once it comes out. I can assure you that I don’t do this for just any album after I have already listened to it countless times but I always like to have physical copies of the best albums and ToxicRose‘s Total Tranquility is simply a great album. It doesn’t look like the album can be pre-ordered just yet but once it does, make sure you order yours as I am sure that you won’t regret it.

Track List:
01. World Of Confusion
02. Silent End Of Me
03. Killing The Romance
04. Sinner
05. We Own The Night
06. Reckless Society
07. Clarity
08. Because Of You
09. We All Fall Down
10. Total Tranquility

Band Members:
Andy TXR – lead vocals
Tom Wouda – guitars
Goran Imperator – bass
Michael Sweet – drums

Mixed by Ronny Milianowicz
Mastered by Jens Bogren

Band Websites:
Official Website

Reviewed by Olivier for Sleaze Roxx, April 2016


The official music video for the new single World Of ConfusionTaken from the album “Total Tranquility”Order the Total Tranquility album:CD:TOXICROSE Shop: (W…