Treat: ‘Ghost Of Graceland’

To be released on April 15, 2016 (Frontiers Music Srl)

was popular in the ’80s, starting in 1985 with Scratch And Bite, as well as four other full album releases between 1986 and 1992. Treat only had minor success in North America but were a hit in their native Sweden. Following many changes to the line-up and a lack of commercial success, Treat finally broke up in 1993. The band reunited in 2006, releasing a new album and touring extensively. Building on the success of their last album Coup de Grace (2010), the band is now releasing “an album packed with reflective, soul searching songs dressed in a devilishly seductive yet hard hitting melodic rock.

One interesting quote from guitarist Anders Wikström talks about the philosophy behind the record: “We’re middle aged now, I just turned fifty. In our twenties it was all about babes, booze and rock’n’roll. Now we are husbands and fathers with responsibilities. We’ve grown up, just like our fans. I wanted that to reflect in the lyrics.”

Ghost of Graceland is hard to describe. It’s quite modern, but flashes back to everyone from Whitesnake to Nelson.  While the songs do have an element of keyboards, it is a guitar-driven offering more than anything. Sure, there are a few ballads and mid-tempo songs like the inspirational “Do Your Own Stunts” or the pretty “Together Alone.”  Yet the majority of the 12 tracks are decent rockers. “Endangered” is maybe the best example of Treat, with solid guitars and keys that highlight rather than dominate the song.  And “Inferno”, with its gentle intro, hides a Whitesnake like sound and a catchy chorus.

Ghost Of Graceland is a melodic rocker’s treat, if you pardon the pun. It’s a good album with sing-along choruses and neat little hooks, written and performed by old-time rockers that know their style and perform for their fans.

Track List:
01. Ghost Of Graceland
02. I Don’t Miss The Misery
03. Better The Devil You Know
04. Do Your Own Stunts
05. Endangered
06. Inferno
07. Alien Earthlings
08. Nonstop Madness
09. Too Late To Die Young
10. House On Fire
11. Together Alone
12. Everything To Everyone

Band Members:
Robert Ernlund
– lead vocals
Anders Wikström – lead guitars and background vocals, lead vocals (11)
Patrick Appelgren – keyboards, guitars and background vocals
Pontus Egberg – bass
Jamie Borger – drums

Band Website:

Reviewed by Metal Mike for Sleaze Roxx, March 2016

Treat – Ghost of Graceland (Official Music Video)

From the new album, GHOST OF GRACELAND. Get your copy NOW: iTunes: // Amazon: /…

Treat – Endangered (Official Audio)

Get your copy of GHOST OF GRACELAND now: iTunes: Play – http://radi….

Treat – Inferno (Official Audio)

Get your copy of GHOST OF GRACELAND now: iTunes: Play – http://radi….