Voodoo Vegas: ‘Feeling So Good’

To be released on November 1, 2019 (PHD)

UK band Voodoo Vegas have released two previous albums, The Rise of Jimmy Silver in 2013 and Freak Show Candy Floss in 2017, as well as other singles and EPs. The two albums were crowdfunded, so when Voodoo Vegas embarked on the writing and recording experience for Feeling So Good, they again reached out to fans for financial support. Unfortunately, the band got caught up in the Pledge Music debacle and lost thousands that would have helped develop the new album.

Fortunately, the Voodoo Vegas sound was identified by Peter Keevil of TMR Management, and the new album happened after all. Feeling So Good is a decent entry into the late-twenty teens’ pantheon of sleaze rock.  There are elements to several songs that immediately capture my attention.  “Don’t Need Your Love” and “Puppet” for example, are a more modern reflection of Hardcore Superstar or The Last Vegas.

“Pretender” has an opening bass and guitar line that reminds me of the old L.A. Guns track “Sleazy Come.”  There’s a playfulness in the writing and performance that is really fun and raunchy. The stomp-clap meets dark acoustic of “How Much Is Enough” does intrigue me, and the song is pretty good overall.  I will question the nearly six and a half minute run time however. Quite unusually for this deep into an album, track seven “World Keeps Turning” clocks in at just over a minute of bland nothingness before “Who I Want to Be” kicks in.  The up-tempo enthusiasm is fading toward some slower, plodding but heavy tracks including the latter and “Feeling So Good.” before back to the fun with “Come on Over” with its harmonica and Crazy Lixx style vocals.  Borderline Aerosmith here.

Feeling So Good is a fun listen and memorable for a time. I have enjoyed Voodoo Vegas‘ earlier stuff that still resides on my hard drive, but to be honest, I rarely revisit. The same can be said for this album, perhaps with the exception of “Love Shines”.  There won’t be much to keep me coming back to this album a year or two from now… which should not distract from the here and now.

Track List:
01. Don’t Need Your Love
02. Revolution
03. Follow Your Leader
04. Puppet
05. Pretender
06. How Much Is Enough
07. World Keeps Turning
08. Who I Want To Be
09. Feeling So Good
10. Come On Over
11. Love Shines

Band Members:
Lawrence Case – vocals, harp
Ash Mouton – bass
Meryl Hamilton – guitars
Jon Dawson – guitars
Martin Ramsey – drums

Band Websites:
Official Website

Reviewed by Metal Mike for Sleaze Roxx, October 2019

Voodoo Vegas‘ “Revolution” video:

Voodoo Vegas – Revolution (Official Video)

Revolution by Voodoo VegasSingle released on Fri 05 July 2019 Taken from the album ‘Feeling So Good’ released on Fri 01 Nov 2019 Pre-order here: http://store…

Voodoo Vegas‘ “Don’t Need Your Love” video:

Voodoo Vegas – Don’t Need Your Love (Official Video)

VoodooVegas – #DontNeedYourLove Single released Fri 24 May 2019Don’t Need Your Love is the first single from ‘Feeling So Good’ the upcoming 3rd album from U…