Whitesnake – The Definitive Collection

Whitesnake - The Definitive Collection
Released 2006 (Geffen)

Track List:
01. Don’t Break My Heart Again
02. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
03. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
04. Ready An’ Willing
05. Slide It In
06. Love Ain’t No Stranger
07. Slow An’ Easy
08. Fool For Your Loving
09. Judgement Day
10. The Deeper The Love
11. Now You’re Gone
12. Looking For Love
13. Give Me All Your Love
14. Is This Love
15. Here I Go Again
16. Still Of The Night
17. Pride And Joy (Coverdale/Page)
18. We Wish You Well

David Coverdale – vocals

I’m not so sure the world needed another Whitesnake compilation, we already have 1994’s Greatest Hits, 2002’s two disc set Here I Go Again: The Whitesnake Collection, and numerous budget-priced collections. But if you are like me and haven’t bothered picking up any of the previous hits discs, this is a nice anthology. I still remember those high-school days when “Slide It In”, “Slow ‘An Easy” and my personal favorite “Still Of The Night” were being played constantly, all of which are represented here. These songs bring back lots of great memories, the partying, the women, the fun…and of course the hard rock music that was always present.

  All the hits are here, I can’t think of anything that is missing. Actually any fan of Whitesnake could close his eyes and write down most of the tracks appearing here. The massively successful ballads are all included, including the two top 5 singles “Here I Go Again” and “Is This Love”, as well as every headbangers favorite rockers. Personally I would have preferred more early material, but when compiling a greatest hits album you have to stick to the actual hits.

  One interesting inclusion is Coverdale/Page‘s “Pride And Joy”. It isn’t a Whitesnake song but fits in remarkably well. I know some people didn’t care for that album, but I liked it.

  One complaint I have here is the order of the songs. There seems to be no chronological order whatsoever and when it comes to greatest hits CDs I always prefer the order of the songs to show how the band has progressed over the years. If you already have a Whitesnake compilation I would be tempted to skip this one and go for the latest DVD instead. The band has announced some new tour dates at www.whitesnake.com, and hopefully some new music will follow soon.

Reviewed by Skid for Sleaze Roxx, February 2006.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com