Whitesnake – Whitesnake

Whitesnake - Whitesnake
Released on April 7, 1987 (Geffen)
Billboard Chart Position #2

Track List:
01. Crying In The Rain
02. Bad Boys
03. Still Of The Night
04. Here I Go Again
05. Give Me All Your Love
06. Is This Love
07. Children Of The Night
08. Straight For The Heart
09. Don’t Turn Away

Band Members:
David Coverdale – vocals and guitar
John Sykes – guitar and vocals
Neil Murray – bass
Aynsley Dunbar – drums

Additional Musicians:
Adrian Vandenberg – guitar
Don Airey – keyboards
Bill Cuomo – keyboards

Produced by Mike Stone and Keith Olsen.

This was the breakthrough album for David Coverdale and company, making Whitesnake a household name on its way to selling over six million copies in America alone. Songs like “Crying In The Rain”, “Bad Boys” and “Children Of The Night” rock out, and they weren’t even among the four charting singles! There were also hit singles “Still Of The Night” (#79), “Give Me All Your Love” (#48) and the beautiful ballad “Is This Love” (#2).

Despite all of these great songs, no one that grew up in the 80’s could forget the sight of Tawny Kitaen dancing on automobiles in the video for the #1 smash hit “Here I Go Again”. In fact the videos were in such regular rotation on MTV that Tawny actually got her got her first big break on the small screen, and she went on to become Mrs. David Coverdale (a marriage that was short lived)). It is interesting to note that the band members on the album didn’t actually appear on the videos or the accompanying tour. The musicianship is fantastic throughout the album! Whitesnake 1987 is without a doubt a melodic rock classic, and receives two thumbs up!

Reviewed by Pam for Sleaze Roxx, May 2003.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com