ZZ Top – Double Down Live 1980 + 2008

ZZ Top - Double Down Live 1980 + 2008

DOUBLE DOWN LIVE 1980 + 2008
Released October 20, 2009 (Eagle Vision)

DVD 1 Track List – Definitely Then 1980:
01. I Thank You
02. Waitin’ For the Bus
03. Jesus Just Left Chicago
04. Precious And Grace
05. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
06. Manic Mechanic
07. Lowdown In The Street
08. Heard It On The X
09. Fool For Your Stockings
10. Nasty Dogs & Funky Kings
11. El Diablo
12. Cheap Sunglasses
13. Arrested For Driving While Blind
14. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
15. La Grange
16. She Loves My Automobile
17. Hi Fi Mama
18. Dust My Broom
19. Jailhouse Roc
20. Tush
21. Tube Snake Boogie
22. Just Got Paid
DVD 2 Track List – Almost Now 2008:
01. Got Me Under Pressure
02. Waitin’ For The Bus
03. Jesus Just Left Chicago
04. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
05. Blue Jean Blues
06. Heard It On The X
07. Just Got Paid
08. I Need You Tonight
09. La Grange (with Sloppy Drunk & Bar-B-Q)
10. Hey Joe
11. Tush

Billy Gibbons – lead vocals and guitar
Dusty Hill – bass and vocals
Frank Beard – drums

Produced by Billy Gibbons.

Before you call this ZZ Top collection just another live DVD, you must know what’s included on Double Down Live 1980 + 2008. Because even if you already own their other fantastic DVD Live In Texas, you’ll want to pick this one up.

  First of all the first DVD on this double disc set is the uncut, legendary performance at Germany’s Rockpalast from 1980 when ZZ Top toured behind their Deguello album. As a ZZ Top enthusiast I have owned this on both audio and video form for a number of years, but sadly my copies have been passed around trading circles for ages and I sorely needed an upgrade. The footage looks its age and is spotty at times, but the audio is not surprisingly fantastic. You’ll be transported back to 1980 when ZZ Top were about to break into the mainstream. This still showcases the trio as an arena rock ‘n’ roll bar blues band, prior to the over-the-top 80’s excess and technologies that plagued the following albums throughout that decade. This is a treat for me as I never caught the band prior to 1983 live.

  The second DVD on Double Down Live 1980 + 2008 was recorded from footage shot during their 2008 world tour in North America and abroad. I obviously see this as a bonus disc with the Rockpalast footage the main course. Much like ZZ Top‘s setlist since completing their contract with RCA, the songs on the 2008 DVD don’t add any surprises. I should add that the disc was stripped down to a mere 11 cuts, which leaves me asking the question; why?

  www.zztop.com – www.myspace.com/zztop – www.eaglerockent.com

Reviewed by Ruben Mosqueda for Sleaze Roxx, November 2009.

Buy The CD:
Purchase at Amazon.com
Purchase at CDUniverse.com
Purchase at eBay.com