Rhino Announces Black Sabbath Box Set


May 22, 2008

On July 22, Rhino relives the demonic fury conjured by the Dio era of Black Sabbath with The Rules of Hell, a boxed setfeaturing all three of the band’s studio releases (Heaven and Hell, MobRules, Dehumanizer) and their double live collection (Live Evil) — eachrecently remastered for the first time. The set comes packaged in a deluxeslipcase with extensive liner notes featuring all new interviews with theband. This five-disc boxed set will be available from Rhino on July 22 atall physical outlets, as well as www.rhino.com, for a suggested list priceof $54.98. The set will also be available the same day at all digitaloutlets for a suggested list price of $24.99.

Two years ago, Dio, Iommi and Butler and drummer Vinny Appice reunited torecord a trio of new songs for Rhino’s Black Sabbath: The Dio Years beforelaunching a highly anticipated and greatly acclaimed world tour under theirnew moniker Heaven & Hell. Revitalized by the reunion, the lineup is backin the studio now recording the first ever full-length studio album fromHeaven & Hell, set to be released by Rhino in early 2009. To whet the fans’appetites for the new album, Heaven & Hell will return to the road for ashort stint on the Metal Masters Tour, a month-long North American trekwith Judas Priest, Motorhead, and Testament. This blistering metaljuggernaut will launch August 6 in Philadelphia.

The Dio-era’s first effort, Heaven and Hell, hit the racks on April 25,1980. Greeted by ecstatic reviews, the album peaked at #9 in Britain. Inthe U.S., its Top 30 success gave the group its first platinum disc in sixyears. Opening with the chugging anthem “Neon Knights,” the album alsoincludes the epic title track, “Wishing Well,” “Die Young” and “Lonely IsThe Word.”

The group’s follow-up, Mob Rules, was the first without original drummerBill Ward, who was replaced with Appice. The album bristles with Iommi’ssignature dark riffs, Butler’s elaborate bass lines, Appice’s hammeringbehind the drums and Dio’s inimitable growling. The album includes thehigh-octane tracks “Falling Off The Edge Of The World,” “Turn Up TheNight,” and the title track plus the mid-tempo rocker “Voodoo” and theslow-churning epic “The Sign Of The Southern Cross,” a favorite among bandmembers and fans alike.

Released in December 1982, Live Evil stands as a modern metal masterpieceand a testament to the power of the Dio, Iommi, Butler and Appice lineup.Recorded in Seattle, Dallas, and San Antonio, the sound is upfront andaggressive, a virtual front-row seat for epic versions of their classicsincluding “Neon Knights,” “Children Of The Sea,” “The Sign Of The SouthernCross” and “Heaven And Hell.”

Dehunanizer (1992) is seen by many metal aficionados as one of — if notthe most — underrated work to ever carry the Sabbath name. After thelineup fell apart in 1982, the group reconvened a decade later to releasethis lost classic. The album forged something new, pushing its legend to anew generation of metal heads with incredible tracks like “I,” “ComputerGod” and “TV Crimes.”

Black Sabbath The Rules Of Hell Box Set


1. “Neon Knights”
2. “Children Of The Sea”
3. “Lady Evil”
4. “Heaven And Hell”
5. “Wishing Well”
6. “Die Young”
7. “Walk Away”
8. “Lonely Is The Word”

1. “Turn Up The Night”
2. “Voodoo”
3. “The Sign Of The Southern Cross”
4. “E5150”
5. “The Mob Rules”
6. “Country Girl”
7. “Slipping Away”
8. “Falling Off The Edge Of The World”
9. “Over And Over”

Disc 1
1. “E5150”
2. “Neon Knights”
3. “N.I.B.”
4. “Children Of The Sea”
5. “Voodoo”
6. “Black Sabbath”
7. “War Pigs”
8. “Iron Man”

Disc 2
1. “The Mob Rules”
2. “Heaven And Hell”
3. “The Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven And Hell”
4. “Paranoid”
5. “Children Of The Grave”
6. “Fluff”

1. “Computer God”
2. “After All (The Dead)”
3. “TV Crimes”
4. “Letters From Earth”
5. “Master Of Insanity”
6. “Time Machine”
7. “Sins Of The Father”
8. “Too Late”
9. “I”
10. “Buried Alive”
11. “Time Machine” (Wayne’s World Version)

Heaven & Hell North American Tour Dates
(Except where noted, all shows also feature Judas Priest, Motorhead, and Testament)

6 Philadelphia, PA Susquehanna Bank Center
7 Washington, DC Nissan Pavilion
9 Holmdel, NJ PNC Arts Center
10 Wantagh, NJ Jones Beach Theater
12 Hamburg, NY Grandstand Stage/America’s Fair **
13 Toronto, ONT Molson Amphitheatre
15 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena##
16 Pittsburgh, PA Post-Gazette Pavilion
18 Detroit, MI DTE Energy Center
19 Chicago, IL First Midwest Band Amphitheatre
22 Dallas, TX Superpages.com Center
23 Houston, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
24 San Antonio, TX Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
27 Albuquerque, NM Journal Pavilion
28 Phoenix, AZ Cricket Wireless Pavilion
30 San Bernadino, CA Hyundai Pavilion At Glen Helen
31 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre

**Featuring Motorhead and Testament ONLY
## Featuring Judas Priest and Testament ONLY

Courtesy of www.guitarworld.com