Sabbath Displays Classic ‘Symptoms’ On Rhino Set


Black Sabbath’s original lineup — vocalist John “Ozzy” Osbourne, guitarist Tony Iommi, bassist Terry “Geezer” Butler, and drummer Bill Ward — ruled heavy metal from 1970-1978, and their work during that period will be anthologized Oct. 15 with the Warner Bros./Rhino release “Symptom of the Universe: The Original Black Sabbath (1970-1978).”

The 29-track, two-CD package includes studio cuts spanning eight albums, from the group’s self-titled 1970 debut to 1978’s “Never Say Die,” the last studio album recorded before Osbourne exited the band to pursue a solo career. The compilation will feature Sabbath standards such as “Paranoid,” “Iron Man,” “War Pigs,” and “Sweet Leaf,” but also include the non-LP single “Evil Woman,” which has never before seen commercial release in the U.S.

The release comes on the heels of Sanctuary’s two-disc live Black Sabbath set, “Past Lives.” Released earlier this week, that collection comprises live material recorded around 1975 by the same original lineup featured on “Symptom of the Universe.”

Troy Carpenter courtesy of Billboard