Stephen Pearcy feels ‘Infestation’ came close but not a true Ratt album

Stephen Pearcy feels ‘Infestation’ came close but not a true Ratt album

Ratt‘s last studio album Infestation celebrated its 12th year anniversary yesterday. The line-up for that record consisted of Stephen Pearcy on lead vocals, Warren DeMartini and Carlos Cavazo on guitars, Bobby Blotzer on drums and Robbie Crane on bass.

While Sleaze Roxx and many of its readers were pleased with the return of Ratt‘s classic sound on Infestation as evident by the album’s #1 spot on the Sleaze Roxx Readers’ Top 20 Albums of 2010 and #2 finish on the Sleaze Roxx’s Top Ten Albums of 2010, Pearcy apparently does not consider Infestation to be a true Ratt album since it did not involve bassist Juan Croucier and deceased guitarist Robbin Crosby (who passed away back on June 6, 2002).

The following message was posted on Pearcy‘s Facebook page yesterday:

RATTInfestation” released on April 20, 2010

Infestation is the seventh studio album.

Pearcy, “You work with what you got. So again without Robbin or Juan and writing with others, it could never be considered a Ratt record per say.

Warren DeMartini and I can always get close, with no disrespect to the others involved, we came close. As they say, no cigar.

I think RATT without the original members positive and negative elements is what made our songs. On “Infestation”, it was a hard nut to crack. It was good, not great”. #StephenPearcy #ontour

Ratt‘s “Best of Me” video (from Infestation album):

Ratt‘s “Eat Me Alive” video (from Infestation album):