Stryper frontman Michael Sweet’s next solo album to be called ‘Ten’ and released via Rat Pak Records

Stryper frontman Michael Sweet’s next solo album to be called ‘Ten’ and released via Rat Pak Records 

Stryper lead vocalist and guitarist Michael Sweet‘s next solo album, and the follow up to One Sided War, will be called Ten and released once again via Rat Pak Records. Arguably, Ten will be Sweet‘s tenth solo album after the Unstryped EP (1992), Michael Sweet (1994), Real (1995), Truth demo (1998), Truth (2000), Him (2006), Touched (2007), I’m Not Your Suicide (2014), One Sided War (2016) and Sole: Songs And Stories From A Life In Music DVD (2017).

The following message was posted on Sweet‘s Facebook page on February 22, 2019:

“I record solo albums because of how I’m built. I have a never ending supply of songs (a blessing and a curse) in my head 24/7. If I just did Stryper alone I’d most likely lose my mind? Recording solo albums gives me the opportunity to release these ideas and to stay creative and to continue releasing music aside from Stryper. It doesn’t mean that I’m taking time away from Stryper and it doesn’t mean that Stryper is suffering because of it.

It simply means that I love music and I have so many ideas that I need to record and release them in order to move forward. It can’t all be done with Stryper. It’s impossible. So, I hope that you’ll all stay with me and support what I’m doing no matter what. My heart is to always inspire and encourage anyone listening. I have a new solo album coming out on Rat Pak Records called “Ten” and I think it quite possibly may be the best thing that I’ve ever done. That’s the goal right, get better and better and always try to achieve your best. I do try…..

I want to thank you all for your support and for helping to make my dreams come true? Here’s to many more?”

Sleaze Roxx stated the following in its review of One Sided War: “Sweet has surrounded himself with some very talented musicians for One Sided War. He asked guitarist Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Night Ranger), drummer Will Hunt (Evanescence), guitar shred master Ethan Brosh (Burning Heat, solo work), and bassist John O’Boyle (Tom Ingram Band) to help him with his new solo album. What they have crafted is an all killer, no filler album of hard rock, glam rock, and some huge classic metal riffs to satisfy your taste buds if this is what you are hungry for. Here is what Sweet had to say about this album: “Musically it’s my heaviest solo album. It’s not thrash metal but there are definitely some songs on there that will pop out at youThere are some songs that have a bit of the Iron Maiden / Dio feel to them, as well as some songs that have a little bit of a Van Halen influence to themIt’s a very guitar-oriented, hard rock/metal album with lots of melodies and hooks.”

We all know that Sweet is a very talented guitar player, but with having Hoekstra and Brosh on this record, he could just sit back and focus on his vocals as those two are phenomenal guitar players and this album showcases that. If you had already heard and watched the video for the first single and lead off track “Bizarre,” then you know what to expect from this album. It is hard hitting, riff heavy, packed full of furious guitar solos, and a well-mixed album.”

Michael Sweet‘s “Bizarre” (from One Sided War):


Michael Sweet (Stryper) “Bizarre” Official video featuring Todd Kearns (Slash), Ethan Brosh and Scott Coogan. From Michael’s forthcoming CD “One Sided War” P…