Stryper’s New Album ‘Murder By Pride’ Out In Europe On August 28th


June 19, 2009

Frontiers Records is honoured to welcome to its roster, the legendary Christian hard rockers STRYPER with the European release of the band’s brand new album “Murder By Pride”, on August 28th 2009.

Formed in 1983, Stryper are pioneers in the mainstream popularization of Christian hard rock and metal music, with overall sales in excess of 8 million records and one Platinum and two Gold records received for the albums “To Hell with the Devil” and “In God We Trust”.

Stryper's New Album 'Murder By Pride' Out In Europe On August 28th

The band released five studio albums before disbanding in February 1992. Singer Michael Sweet pursued a solo career, while the other members have kept on working together, until Stryper came back in the original line up during 2005, releasing the acclaimed new album entitled “Reborn”.

In the past few years singer Michael Sweet started to cooperate with Boston and the result of this is a stunning recording of the classic song “Peace of Mind” on the brand new album “Murder By Pride”, which sees none other than Tom Scholz guesting on guitar.

“After years of speaking to fans and hearing comments like ‘more guitars,’ ‘more solos’ and ‘more screams'”, says Michael Sweet “I decided to keep those comments in mind as I wrote each song. It was important to me to try to get back to that early sound of STRYPER yet at the same time, to remain relevant today. It’s certainly not an easy thing to do but as I listen to ‘Murder By Pride’, I think that was accomplished”.

“I got the idea of the title ‘Murder By Pride’ from seeing pride consume dreams, goals and many times, lives” continues Sweet “We all deal with pride and it can be crippling, so I wanted to write a lyric and a theme that would be a constant reminder of that. This record has been in the works for a long, long time and I can only hope that it was worth the wait!”

“Murder By Pride” European tracklisting includes the following songs:
01. Eclipse Of The Son
02. 4 Leaf Clover
03. Peace Of Mind
04. Alive
05. The Plan
06. Murder By Pride
07. I Believe
08. Run In You
09. Love Is Why
10. Mercy Over Blame
11. Everything
12. My Love (I’ll Always Show)
13. My Love, My Life, My Flame (Exclusive Bonus Track for Europe)

Some of the tracks can be now heard in streaming on

Stryper have also already confirmed some live appearances in Europe in early 2010, which will be followed by more dates which are currently being worked out. Stryper now are: Michael Sweet (vocals, guitar), Oz Fox (lead guitar), Tracy Ferrie (baass guitar) and Robert Sweet (drums).

Courtesy of and