The Compulsions, Featuring Guns N’ Roses And New York Dolls Members, Release New Video

The Compulsions, Featuring Guns N’ Roses And New York Dolls Members, Release New Video

March 8, 2011

Critically acclaimed New York City rock ‘n’ roll band The Compulsions have released a fan filmed live video for “Big, Fat, Sexy Mama”. Viewers can “follow the bouncing boob” to check out the song’s profanity-laced lyrics below.

The Compulsions are led by founder and front man Rob Carlyle with Richard Fortus (Guns N’ Roses) on guitar, Sami Yaffa (Michael Monroe Band, New York Dolls) on bass and Frank Ferrer (Guns N’ Roses) on drums.

According to Carlyle: “When we played in early January, it’d been over a year since we were on stage together and with our schedules we could only rehearse once the night before. But there’s something about the four of us because no matter how long it’s been, whenever we get in the same room, the music just comes together instantly.”

A full length Compulsions album titled Beat The Devil is also in the works with a very special guest appearance by guitar legend Hubert Sumlin (Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf).

“There’s a lot of new Compulsions fans lately and I’m happy to say they’ve been really getting into it. For starters, one couple drove 5 hours from New Hampshire through the ice and snow to see us play and a couple girls flew in from Sweden. So we’re gonna put out a new record as soon as possible and hopefully keep the momentum going.” adds Carlyle.

When asked about the inspiration behind “Big, Fat, Sexy Mama” Carlyle explains: “Lots of people have written songs like this before, whether it’s John Lee Hooker with “Big Legs, Tight Skirt,” AC/DC with “Whole Lotta Rosie” or Sir Mix-A-Lot with “Baby Got Back” and it seemed time for someone to write another one. The lyrics are obviously filthy but what’s really surprising is the amount of positive feedback I get from women of all shapes and sizes.”

Ferrer and Fortus have performed on all three Compulsions EPs, Laughter From Below (2004), Demon Love (2008) and Been Through Hell (2009). The 6-song discs, known to diehard fans as “The Unholy Trinity,” have received near universal critical acclaim from both the underground and mainstream press, including Classic Rock magazine which dubbed The Compulsions “The Coolest Band In The World.”

Courtesy of and