The Poor drop lyric video for new single “Cry Out”

The Poor drop lyric video for new single “Cry Out”

Australian rockers The Poor consisting of frontman Anthony “Skenie” Skene, bassist Matt Whitby, drummer Gavin Hansen and lead guitarist Daniel Cox have unveiled a lyric video for their new single “Cry Out” via Reckless Records.

The YouTube caption for the video indicates in part (with slight edits):

The Poor is set to release new single ‘Cry Out’ in late July, the follow up to ‘Payback’s A Bitch’, the band’s first new music in 12 years via Australian record label Reckless Records. Time has not wearied this band. Still delivering their unabashed four-on-the-floor rock, these songs herald a new era for The Poor, led by lead guitarist Daniel Cox’s premiere songwriting collaboration with the band.

About The Poor

The Poor started out playing the pub circuit in Darwin nearly two decades ago. The plan was simple -, hard rockin’ hard drinkin’ and world domination. In 1992, the band cut their debut release, the EP Rude, Crude & Tattooed, produced by Rick Brewster and Bob Spencer from The Angels and from the opening line, you knew it was going to be something great; Aussie pub rock, in your face, no bullshit, straight to the point, rock’n’f%&k’n’roll! In mid 1993, the band recorded their debut album, Who Cares which spawned their most notable single, “More Wine Waiter Please”.

An unrelenting couple of decades followed where they toured relentlessly, drank hard and rocked harder touring Australia, Europe and Japan, sharing stages with the likes of Suicidal Tendencies, the Scorpions, Alice In Chains and Van Halen. In 2000, the band went into hibernation until an invitation to tour with W.A.S.P. was too good to refuse. It didn’t take long for them to get back into the rock’n’roll groove they cut so deeply in previous years. Round 1 and Round 2 albums followed in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

After 12 years of touring their supercharged ‘NO BS Aussie Rock’ show with local and International rock bands including AC/DC, The Screaming Jets, Rose Tattoo and The Angels, cut to the present day and The Poor are ready to release new music on their old and new fans. Original members Anthony (Skenie) Skene, Matt Whitby and (almost original drummer) Gavin Hansen are joined by relative newcomer and lead guitarist Daniel Cox.”

The Poor‘s “Cry Out” lyric video: