UFO To Release ‘Best Of A Decade’ On September 28

UFO To Release ‘Best Of A Decade’ On September 28

July 20, 2010

UFO To Release 'Best Of A Decade' On September 28True rock legends such as UFO are characterized not only by the fact that they have added several classic anthems to the annals of rock history, but that their musical output, after many years, still remains at such a consistently high level and they always have something new and fresh coming up. With classic albums such as “Phenomenon”, “Force it” and “No Heavy Pettin” Phil Mogg, Vinnie Moore, Andy Parker and Paul Raymond still sound vital and imaginative to this day. With the upcoming album “Best of a Decade” you can experience this yourself – this best of album will be released September 28th via SPV/ Steamhammer.

There are more stories about UFO than actual songs that they have composed. Any band who has been in the music business for 40 plus years are bound to have experienced difficult times, but also dazzling success. UFO’s story began in London way back in 1969, when vocalist Phil Mogg, drummer Andy Parker, guitarist Mick Bolton and bassist Pete Way formed the group, borrowing the band name from a legendary London music club. The band distinguished themselves with their very own, unmistakable style, touching a nerve among their growing following with rock numbers like ‘Prince Kajuku’, ‘Follow You Home’ or ‘C’mon Everybody’ from their albums “UFO 1”, “Flying” and “UFO Live”.

UFO’s global breakthrough came when German guitarist, Michael Schenker, joined the fold in 1973, having left his band the Scorpions to accept an offer from Phil Mogg and Pete Way. UFO released three consecutive rock classics with Schenker (“Phenomenon” (1974), “Force It” (1975) and “No Heavy Pettin'” (1976)), featuring classics such as: ‘Doctor Doctor’, ‘Shoot, Shoot’, and ‘Rock Bottom’. Following the arrival of keyboardist/rhythm guitarist Paul Raymond, UFO released the albums “Lights Out” (1977) and “Obsession” (1978), which included the hit singles ‘Too Hot To Handle’, ‘Lights Out’ and ‘Only You Can Rock Me’. Their live release “Strangers In The Night” came out in 1979 and is still considered to be one of the best live releases of all time, unfortunately, this also brought about the end of the Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker & Raymond line-up.

The reorganized band underwent fifteen years marked by various eras and numerous line-up changes. To everyone’s surprise, autumn 1993 saw the return of the former UFO line-up consisting of Mogg, Way, Schenker, Parker and Raymond. This new edition of the classic team released the album “Walk On Water”, their first joint effort after in over fifteen years and they embarked on a world tour. However, Schenker left UFO again during the “Walk On Water” tour to continue working with his own group, MSG, while Mogg & Way went on to release their second album, Chocolate Box. The UFO album “Covenant and Sharks”, recorded by Mogg, Way and Schenker, arrived at the stores in 2000 and 2002. Vinnie Moore soon joined the band and recorded songs for the new album “You Are Here”which also featured Jason Bonham taking over the drumming duties. During the subsequent world tour, UFO recorded a show in Germany, which was later released as the live album, “Showtime”, as well as a DVD featuring additional bonus material. In 2006 left UFO to join Foreigner and was replaced by UFO’s original drummer, Andy Parker for their release “The Monkey Puzzle” In 2009 UFO released the critically acclaimed album “The Visitor”.

1. The Wild One
2. Hard Being Me
3. Lights Out (live)
4. Saving Me
5. Daylight Goes To Town
6. Let It Roll (live)
7. This Kids (live)
8. Heavenly Body
9. Helldriver
10. Too Hot To Handle (live)
11. Mr. Freeze
12. Shoot Shoot (live)
13. Black And Blue
14. Can’t Buy A Thrill
15. Baby Blue
16. Doctor Doctor (live)

Phil Mogg – vocals
Paul Raymond – keyboards, guitars
Vinnie Moore – guitars
Andy Parker – drums

20.07. D-Aschaffenburg – Colos-Saal
21.07. D-Nurnberg – Hirsch (re-scheduled date)
22.07. D-Siegburg – Kubana
23.07. NL-Kerkrade – The Rock Temple
25.07. GB-London – High Voltage Festival
12.10. D-Regensburg – Alte Malzerei
14.10. D-Lorsch – Musiktheater Rex
16.10. D-Erfurt – Gewerkschaftshaus
19.10. D-Freiburg – Jazzhaus
22.10. D/NO-Kiel/Oslo – Classic Rock Boat Cruise
03.12. GB-Prestatyn – Hard Rock Hell IV
04.12. GB-Holmfirth – Picturedrome


Courtesy of www.sleazeroxx.com and www.ufo-music.info