Ugly Kid Joe’s Comeback EP Being Reissued With Bonus Tracks

Ugly Kid Joe’s Comeback EP Being Reissued With Bonus Tracks

March 5, 2013

Ugly Kid Joe’s 2012 comeback EP ‘Stairway To Hell’ will be reissued with bonus material on April 16th through MRI. The EP contains songs that span the full repertoire of influences that made Ugly Kid Joe the soundtrack for young snowboarders, surfers, and keggers worldwide and will feature bonus acoustic performances of “Cat In The Cradle”, “Would You Like To Be There” and “No One Survives”. Physical copies of the reissued EP will also contain an Electronic Press Kit and a video for the single “It’s Alright”.

The epicenter of Ugly Kid Joe is lead singer Whitfield Crane — a wonderfully cathartic wrecking ball of rock ‘n’ roll energy as it used to be served, on the rocks with no need for tonic. He’s joined by long-time co-conspirators Klaus Eichstadt and Dave Fortman (guitars) as well as Cordell Crockett (bass) and Shannon Larkin (drums). Several members have built pretty substantial resumes during Ugly Kid Joe’s break. Fortman produced albums by Evanescence, Slipknot and Mudvayne, while Larkin hit the skins for multi-platinum sellers Godsmack.

Ugly Kid Joe’s stratospheric rise came about soon after their formation in 1990. After signing to Mercury Records, the band released the EP ‘As Ugly As They Wanna Be’. On the strength of the hit single “Everything About You”, it went on to sell over a million copies in the U.S., becoming the highest selling debut EP of all time and the first EP in history to be certified platinum. In 1992, Ugly Kid Joe released ‘America’s Least Wanted’ which became a double-platinum phenomenon, and saw the band tour worldwide supporting legends such as Ozzy Osbourne and Van Halen. Two more albums were to come out, 1995’s ‘Menace To Sobriety’ and 1996’s ‘Motel California’, before Ugly Kid Joe decided to take a hiatus.

Whether it’s the hypnotic riffery of “Devil’s Paradise”, the melodic power-fueled darkness of “No One Survives” or the irrepressibly chuggin’ chorus of “I’m Alright”, ‘Stairway To Hell’ makes it clear that Ugly Kid Joe has everything they started with, and have added fatter chops and a superior grip on songwriting to their arsenal.

‘Stairway To Hell’ track listing:
Devil’s Paradise
You Make Me Sick
No One Survives
I’m Alright
Love Ain’t True
Another Beer
Cat In the Cradle (acoustic)
Would You Like To Be There (acoustic)
No One Survives (acoustic)
EPK (video)
It’s Alright (video)

Courtesy of