UK glam/punk rockers The Ghosts Of Lovers to have ’90s material re-released

UK glam/punk rockers The Ghosts Of Lovers to have ’90s material re-released

Glam/punk rockers The Ghosts Of Lovers are set to have their eleven studio recordings plus four live tracks dating back to the early 1990s re-released via Angels In Exile Records on November 14, 2016.

the-ghosts-of-lovers-photoAngels In Exile Records‘ press release states:

The Ghosts of Lovers are a cult UK Glam-Punk Rock ‘n’ Roll band, formed by Steve Pegrum and Stuart Emmerton. Initially based around their mutual love of the ’musical trinity’ of Johnny Thunders, Lords of the New Church and Hanoi Rocks, The Ghosts strove to make their own unique imprint. After some initial line up changes, the ‘classic’ Ghosts of Lovers consisting of Kevin MacDonald on vocals, Guy Bourseau on lead guitar, Steve Perry on rhythm guitar, Kevin Sargeant on bass and Steve Pegrum on drums started recording their ever-growing catalogue of songs, the studio recordings of which are all to be found for the first time on this CD.

As an interview during the period for London-based fanzine Submerge revealed, their aesthetic vision was detailed: “The chimera of eclectic sources which influence us are the spirit of Altamont where Rock and Roll met dark forces beyond its control, black leather, chain-smoking, courting crucifixion, crushed velvet, Berlin, Iggy Pop, David Bowie, Herman Hesse, Manhattan, Christiane F, and The New York Dolls“.

The band made their first recording at RMS Studios in Crystal Palace, with tracks consisting of “Tonight,” “Iona” and a live recording of “Don’t Be Afraid,” with “Iona” being released as a flexi-disc with the aforementioned Submerge fanzine. Things looked positive for The Ghosts of Lovers, and the songwriting chemistry between the members was really starting to take off. A great photo session was undertaken by the band with photographer Giacomino Parkinson later that year, providing some immortal shots.

Photo by Giacomino Parkinson

Photo by Giacomino Parkinson

In early 1991, the band underwent a line up change and became a four piece. The Ghosts then started rehearsing solidly, at the Music Complex in Camberwell, South London. They undertook another photo session and did a live recording at a studio in Purley, recording tracks “Another Time,” “(Requiem For) Candy,” “Light Of My Sanity,” “Sea Of Madness,” “That Girl,” “So Lonely,” “Sweet Sensitive Young Thing” and “Souls On Fire.” Shortly after the recording, The Ghosts then played a great concert at the ’Let There Be Rock’ Festival at the Drill Hall in Lincoln, which was thankfully recorded (a live clip from this gig of the song “That Girl” can be found on the Angels in Exile You Tube, Vimeo + Metacafe channels). Almost immediately after the concert however, musical differences emerged which ultimately led to the dissolution of the band and by the summer the band had spilt up.

Steve Pegrum and Guy Bourseau then started a band called ’Hearts of Darkness’ which featured Billy Ingram (ex-Fridays Angels + Brooklyn Dogs) on bass, which continued until late ’96 / early ’97. Guy was diagnosed with cancer in 1998 and sadly died that November. This Ghosts of Lovers CD is dedicated to him and is a celebration of his warmth, love and immense talent.

Track List for The Ghosts Of Lovers:
01. Tonight
the-ghots-of-lovers-album-cover02. Iona
03. Don’t Be Afraid
04. So Lonely
05. The Light Of My Sanity
06. Another Time
07. Sweet Sensitive Young Thing
08. (Requiem For) Candy
09. Souls On Fire
10. Drowning In The Sea Of Madness
11. That Girl
Bonus Tracks:
12. Who’s To Blame (live)
13. Soldier Of The Heart (live)
14. Another Time (live)
15. That Girl (live)

The Ghosts Of Lovers performing “Souls On Fire” at The Music Complex Rehearsal Studio in Camberwell, London, England on June 20, 1991:

The Ghosts of Lovers – ‘Souls on Fire’ (Live)

UK London based Glam / Punk / Rock ‘n’ Roll band The Ghosts of Lovers perform their song ‘Souls on Fire’ in this rare video footage, filmed at The Music Comp…