Uriah Heep To Release First Studio Album In A Decade


July 10, 2008

AntiMusic reports that Noise/Sanctuary Records have announced the release of the new studio album Wake The Sleeper from the hard rock legends Uriah Heep on Aug. 26, 2008.

Wake The Sleeper will be Uriah Heep’s first studio album in almost 10 years (the first since Sonic Origami in 1998) and the band is ready to embark on an exciting new phase of their career with this release.

Wake The Sleeper puts Uriah Heep back at their very best and is sure to become a classic. Their current sound is guaranteed to please their dedicated fan base worldwide as well as fans of progressive rock. Recorded in 2007, the album was produced by Mike Paxman (Status Quo, Judie Tzuke).

The band has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, toured in 52 countries and established themselves as accomplished live performers. No strangers to being at the No.1 spot, Uriah Heep made history when they were the first British rock band to play Russia in 1987. Uriah Heep is currently on tour in Europe and will tour the U.S. in early 2009.

This is the first studio album without their long-standing and original drummer, Lee Kerslake, who unfortunately had to leave the band due to poor health in January 2007. The band has recruited a replacement, acclaimed drummer Russell Gilbrook (Tony Iommi/Black Sabbath, Van Morrison, John Farnham and Lonnie Donnegan). The current band lineup is Mick Box – Guitar, Trevor Bolder – Bass, Phil Lanzon – Keyboards, Bernie Shaw – Lead Vocals and Russell Gilbrook – Drums.

Guitarist Mick Box commented on the band’s latest work, “Wake The Sleeper is an album we are incredibly proud of, and one that we hope the fans will see as one of Uriah Heep’s best.”

Full album track listing as follows:

1 – Wake The Sleeper
2 – Overload
3 – Tears Of the World
4 – Light Of A Thousand Stars
5 – Heavens Rain
6 – Book Of Lies
7 – What Kind Of God
8 – Ghost Of The Ocean
9 – Angels Walk With You
10 – Shadow
11 – War Child

Courtesy of www.antimusic.com