Van Halen’s 1976-77 ‘Zero’ demo featuring 28 songs

Van Halen’s 1976-77 ‘Zero’ demo featuring 28 songs

Forgotten Guitar has posted a YouTube video dubbed ‘Zero’ which contains a whopping 28 demo songs reportedly recorded by Van Halen back in 1976-77 and which includes many songs which surfaced on albums in later years such as “House Of Pain” on 1984, “Happy Trails” on Diver Down, “In A Simple Rhyme” on Women And Children First and “She’s The Woman” on 2012’s A Different Kind Of Truth.

Van Halen photoThe article from Forgotten Guitar states in part:

“…A compilation of 28 fantastic early versions of some of the band’s most famous songs, with many of them eventually featuring their official 1978 debut release, Van Halen.

According to a January 4, 1977, L.A. Times article by Robert Hilburn, entitled “HOMEGROWN PUNK,” the whole thing came happened when Rodney Bingenheimer saw Van Halen at the Gazzarri club in the summer of 1976, and later took Gene Simmons of Kiss to see the band perform. Gene Simmons then financed the demo tape with recording beginning at the Village Recorder studios in Los Angeles and finished with overdubs at the Electric Lady Studios in New York.

Apparently Simmons wanted to change the band’s name to “Daddy Longlegs,” but luckily the band stuck with Van Halen, with Simmons opting out of further involvement after he took the demo to Kiss management and was told that “they had no chance of making it” and that they wouldn’t take them… Big mistake.”

Van Halen – Complete Zero Demo – 1976 (Unreleased)

Titles in description. Complete Zero Demo of Van Halen in 1976 before the album Van Halen I.Titles :1.Intro…

Track List for Zero demo:
01. Intro
02. One Fire
03. Women In Love
04. House Of Pain
05. Runnin’ With The Devil
06. She’s The Woman
07. Let’s Get Rockin’
08. Big Trouble
09. Somebody Get Me a Doctor
10. Babe, Don’t Leave Me Alone
11. Put Out The Lights
12. We Die Bold
13. Voodoo Queen
14. Little Dreamer
15. Bring Out The Girls
16. Young & Wild
17. Last Night
18. Light In The Sky
19. Get The Show On The Road
20. D.O.A
21. Somebody Get Me A Doctor
22. Show Your Love
23. I Wanna Be Your Lover
24. Feel Your Love Tonight
25. In A Simple Rhyme
26. Piece Of Mind
27. You Really Got Me
28. Happy Trails
29. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love