White Lion boxset ‘All You Need Is Rock ‘N’ Roll – The Complete Albums 1985-1991′ available on June 26th

White Lion boxset ‘All You Need Is Rock ‘N’ Roll – The Complete Albums 1985-1991′ available on June 26th

A new White Lion boxset titled All You Need Is Rock ‘N’ Roll – The Complete Albums 1985-1991 will be available via Cherry Red on June 26, 2020.

Cherry Red‘s website indicates (with slight edits):

White Lion originally formed in 1983 when Danish singer Mike Tramp moved to New York City and teamed up with guitarist Vito Bratta, later joined by James Lomenzo on bass and Greg D’Angelo on drums. Mike Tramp and Vito Bratta would make a strong and consistent writing team throughout White Lion’s brief career.

Releasing their debut “Fight To Survive” (CD1) independently in 1985, the band’s fortunes really took off once they were snapped up by Atlantic Records to release second record “Pride” (CD2) in June 1987. As lead single ‘Wait’ began to pick up plenty of airplay, as well as heavy rotation on MTV, hitting No. 8 on the US Billboard Hot 100, the platinum album peaked at No. 11 in the US. There was further US chart success with the singles ‘Tell Me’ (No. 58) and ‘When The Children Cry’ (No. 8). The bonus tracks included here are ‘Wait’ (Extended Remix), ‘When The Children Cry’ (Edit), ‘All You Need Is Rock ‘N’ Roll’ (LP Version With Intro Edit), ‘All You Need Is Rock ‘N’ Roll’ (Short Version) & ‘Tell Me’ (Edit).

Touring heavily, opening for Aerosmith, Ozzy Osbourne, KISS and AC/DC well into 1988, White Lion released the third record, “Big Game” (CD3) in August 1989. As per “Pride”, “Big Game” was produced by Michael Wagener, reaching No. 19 in the US charts. As well as the singles ‘Little Fighter’ and ‘Cry for Freedom’, the album featured a cover of Golden Earring’s hard rock staple, ‘Radar Love’. ‘Cry For Freedom’ (Edit) is included as a bonus track.

This time produced by Richie Zito (Poison, Mr. Big, Elton John, Cher, The Cult & Bad English), fourth and final LP by the original, “classic” line-up of White Lion released “Mane Attraction” (CD4) in 1991. Although “Mane Attraction” can sit proudly alongside their two previous albums for Atlantic, like many of their contemporaries who found fame, fortune and platinum sales in the 1980s, White Lion were beginning to look and sound a little out of step at the beginning of the new decade, as grunge would wipe away many bands of a more glam-based nature. They would soldier on into 1992, before calling it a day. “Mane Attraction” also now features ‘Lights & Thunder’ (Edit).

Versions of White Lion would periodically be formed by frontman Mike Tramp, but sadly not capturing the peak of their Atlantic years. The fifth disc captures the band doing what they did best, performing their melodic hard rock Live (CD5) on stage, with a set that includes live versions of ‘Wait’, ‘The Road To Valhalla’ & ‘Sweet Little Loving’. Live rehearsal versions of ‘Little Fighter’ & ‘Don’t Give Up’ complete CD5.

For fans of: Guns N’ Roses / Van Halen / Aerosmith

Track Listing:

Disc One
Fight To Survive (1985)

01. Broken Heart
02. Cherokee
03. Fight To Survive
04. Where Do We Run
05. In The City
06. All The Fallen Men
07. All Burn In Hell
08. Kid of 1000 Faces
09. El Salvador
10. The Road To Valhalla

Disc Two
Pride (1987)

01. Hungry
02. Lonely Nights
03. Don’t Give Up
04. Sweet Little Loving
05. Lady of The Valley
06. Wait
07. All You Need Is Rock N Roll
08. Tell Me
09. All Join Our Hands
10. When The Children Cry
Bonus Tracks:
11. Wait (Extended Remix)
12. When The Children Cry (Edit)
13. All You Need Is Rock N Roll (LP Version with Radio Edit)
14. All You Need Is Rock N Roll (Short Version)
15. Tell Me (Edit)

Disc Three
Big Game (1989)

01. Goin’ Home Tonight
02. Dirty Woman
03. Little Fighter
04. Broken Home
05. Baby Be Mine
06. Living On The Edge
07. Let’s Get Crazy
08. Don’t Say It’s Over
09. If My Mind Is Evil
10. Radar Love
11. Cry For Freedom
Bonus Track:
12. Cry For Freedom (Edit)

Disc Four
Mane Attraction (1991)

01. Lights And Thunder
02. Broken Heart
03. Leave Me Alone
04. Love Don’t Come Easy
05. You’re All I Need
06. It’s Over
07. Warsong
08. She’s Got Everything
09. Till Death Do Us Part
10. Out With The Boys
11. Blue Monday
12. Farewell To You
Bonus Track:
13. Lights & Thunder (Edit)

Disc Five
Live: Ritz – New York (1988)

01. Hungry
02. Don’t Give Up
03. Lonely Nights
04. Sweet Little Loving
05. Broken Heart
06. Fight To Survive
07. Tell Me
08. All Join Our Hands
09. Wait
10. Lady of The Valley
11. The Road To Valhalla
12. All You Need Is Rock N Roll
13. When The Children Cry
14. Little Fighter (Live in Rehearsal 1991)
15. When The Children Cry (Live In Rehearsal 1991)
16. Don’t Give Up (Live In Rehearsal 1991)