Whitesnake’s Massive ‘Box O’Snakes’ Collection Available For Pre-Order

Whitesnake’s Massive ‘Box O’Snakes’ Collection Available For Pre-Order

October 4, 2011

Whitesnake's Massive 'Box O'Snakes' Collection Available For Pre-OrderOn November 7th, EMI will release a super deluxe box set of Whitesnake’s Sunburst Years. Collecting together all studio and live albums, two previously unreleased BBC concerts, a limited 7″, DVD and a 90-page book with new interviews and previously unseen photos and rare memorabilia, all overseen by David Coverdale. Called ‘Box O’Snakes: The Sunburst Years 1978 – 1982’, the collection is now available for pre-order at Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk — Whitesnake are also giving away a copt of the boxset at www.whitesnake.com.

Following the split of Deep Purple, after three years as their lead singer David Coverdale released two solo albums: ‘Whitesnake’ (1977) and ‘Northwinds’ (1978), both sowing the seeds for what would eventually become Whitesnake.Whitesnake originally formed in March 1978 to promote the release of ‘Northwinds’, but eventually releasing the 4-track 7″ ‘Snakebite’ EP in June of that year, followed by the full-length debut ‘Trouble’ before the end of 1978. Jon Lord and Ian Paice, both founding members of Deep Purple, would augment the line-up, helping steer the band close to the top of the charts in 1981 (only kept off the top spot Adam & The Ant’s ‘Kings Of The Wild Frontier’).

By the end of 1982 with the release of ‘Saints & Sinners’, the band had released five studio albums, two live albums and an EP. These earlier, bluesier recordings the band made before signing to Geffen (for ‘Slide It In’ (1984) and the 8 million-selling ‘1987’, including the US No.1 single “Here I Go Again”), were from a band certainly big enough to sell out Hammersmith Odeon four nights in a row, or headline 1983s Donington Monsters Of Rock festival, though a very different beast to the world conquering 1987 version of the band.

‘Box O’Snakes: The Sunburst Years 1978 – 1982’ is an 11-disc set including the original 1982 version of “Here I Go Again” — featuring nine audio CDs, a DVD and a 7″ white vinyl replica of the ‘Snakebite’ EP, the very first release from Whitesnake, remastered versions of the five studio albums and two live albums Whitesnake released from 1978-1982, plus two previously unreleased live albums recorded for the BBC at the 1979 & 1980 Reading Festivals.

The DVD features 10 promo videos, four rare BBC TV performances and a previously unreleased US live show filmed in 1980. The release is housed in a lift-off-lid box and also contains a 90-page hardback book featuring an introduction from Classic Rock magazine’s Geoff Barton, plus a new 10,000 word interview with David Coverdale and Bernie Marsden, with many unpublished photos and rare memorabilia from Marden’s personal collection, as well as a large colour poster.

Disc One: TROUBLE (1978):
01. Take Me With You
02. Love To Keep You Warm
03. Lie Down (A Modern Love Song)
04. Day Tripper
05. Nighthawk (Vampire Blues)
06. The Time Is Right For Love
07. Trouble
08. Belgian Toms Hat Trick
09. Free Flight
10. Dont Mess With Me

01. Come On
02. Might Just Take Your Life
03. Lie Down
04. Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City
05. Trouble
06. Mistreated

Disc Three: LOVEHUNTER (1979):
01. Long Way From Home
02. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
03. Help Me Thro The Day
04. Medicine Man
05. You N Me
06. Mean Business
07. Love Hunter
08. Outlaw
09. Rock N Roll Women
10. We Wish You Well

Disc Four: READY AN’ WILLING (1980):
01. Fool For Your Loving
02. Sweet Talker
03. Ready An’ Willing
04. Carry Your Load
05. Blindman
06. Aint Gonna Cry No More
07. Love Man
08. Black and Blue
09. Shes A Woman

01. Come On
02. Sweet Talker
03. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
04. Love Hunter
05. Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City
06. Fool For Your Loving
07. Aint Gonna Cry No More
08. Ready AnWilling
09. Take Me With You

Disc Six: COME AN’ GET IT (1981):
01. Come An Get It
02. Hot Stuff
03. Dont Break My Heart Again
04. Lonely Days, Lonely Nights
05. Wine,Women An Song
06. Child of Babylon
07. Would I Lie To You
08. Girl
09. Hit An Run
10. Till The Day I Die

Disc Seven: SAINTS & SINNERS (1982):
01. Young Blood
02. Rough An Ready
03. Bloody Luxury
04. Victim Of Love
05. Crying In The Rain
06. Here I Go Again
07. Love An Affection
08. Rock An Roll Angels
09. Dancing Girls
10. Saints An Sinners

Disc Eight: LIVE AT READING ROCK 79 (1979):
01. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
02. Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City
03. Steal Away
04. Belgian Toms Hat Trick
05. Mistreated/Soldier Of Fortune
06. Love Hunter
07. Breakdown

Disc Nine: LIVE AT READING ROCK 80 (1980):
01. Sweet Talker
02. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
03. Aint Gonna Cry No More
04. Love Hunter
05. Mistreated/Soldier Of Fortune
06. Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City
07. Fool For Your Loving

Disc Ten: DVD VIDEO:
Promo Videos 1978-1982
TV Performances
Extra Feature: Official Bootleg
Live at the Capital Centre, Washington, USA 1980

SNAKEBITE EP (1978) 33rpm 7″ White Vinyl:
Side One
01. Bloody Mary
02. Steal Away
Side Two
01. Aint No Love In The Heart Of The City
02. Come On

Courtesy of www.sleazeroxx.com