WildSide release pre-‘Under The Influence’ tracks from 1986 to 1990 via FnA Records

WildSide release pre-‘Under The Influence’ tracks from 1986 to 1990 via FnA Records

Big news for fans of WildSide as the group’s early recordings preceding their critically acclaimed debut album Under The Influence have been released via FnA Records. You can purchase the new WildSide album …Formerly Known As Young Gunns directly from FnA Records‘ website.

Track List for …Formerly Known As Young Gunns:
01. I’m Gonna Get You
02. Easy As 1 2 3
03. Little Piece of Heaven
04. Cold December Morning
05. Bad Bad Girl
06. Sweet Little Sinner
07. City Of Love
08. One Touch
09. Dance Swing
10. Hot Love
11. All Over You
12. Can’t Stop
13. Here In The Dark
14. Do You Want Love
15. Seniorita

FnA Records‘ press release indicates (with slight edits):

“In 1988, at the pinnacle of the “Hollywood Hair Metal” craze, WildSide, then called Young Gunns, were sharpening their teeth, playing continuous sold out shows at clubs like the Roxy, Whisky, Troubadour, Gazzarri’s, and X-Poseur 54.  Don’t let the name fool you! While WildSide were called Young Gunns in the late 80’s and when signed to Capitol Records, it was the same exact band! The band needed to eventually change their name because producers of a western film using a similar title (released incidentally after the band was already well on its way) from Lionsgate Studios and Artisan Entertainment issued a series of cease and desist warnings and wanted $350,000 for the rights to the name. So Young Gunns changed their name to WildSide and grabbed the 80’s/90’s hair metal scene by the balls!

WildSide was on the front of every local L.A. magazine and rag and the record labels had no choice but to take notice. The band was made up of Seattle transplants Drew Hannah and Benny Rhynedance whom switched their early name from The Boyz to Young Gunns, Brent Woods from the Sunset Strip band Alrisha and bassist Marc Simon from local heroes St. Valentine. The band was rounded out by the addition of drummer Jimmy D.

Diligently writing and rehearsing in their shared Hollywood gigs, the boys played endlessly throughout 1988-1989. When they weren’t ripping through impassioned sets, they were putting up flyers on every telephone pole in town. Their self-determination turned self-promotion into an art form and soon the band’s name was on everyone’s lips. With the majority of the labels soon taking interest, Young Gunns / WildSide signed with Capitol Records and began writing music for the album that would be called Under The Influence.

After another late night Sunset Strip gig, while the guys were afterwards at the Rainbow bar, the name WildSide was thrown around and seemed to fit their lifestyle perfectly, while being inspired by the Lou Reed song of the same name.

With their new name, a new phase of the band history was about to begin. But, that’s another story…

FnA Records is pleased to release the bombastic Wildside album …Formerly Known As Young Gunns. The album is silver-pressed and consists of 15 tracks, all written before Under The Influence. The tracks are raw as hell, gritty, and full of piss and vinegar…and mostly about sex, sex, girls, sex, and more Girls. The CD booklet is a beautiful and colorful 8-page layout. The songs have been remastered and sound fantastic considering they all come from band demo cassettes… you won’t be able to tell the difference.

You can check out Wildside’s first single and music video from the album …Formerly Known As Young Gunns at:

Wildside- Little Piece of Heaven [Official Music Video]

This album is available for purchase at www.fnarecords.net